Australian Cup

Flemington Racecourse hosts the 2,000 metre Australian Cup for thoroughbred horses every March. The Australian Cup is a weight for age race, which means the weight carried by the horse varies depending on the horse’s age, its sex, the race distance and the month of the year.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 2,000 metres
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Date: Saturday 14 March 2015

The Australian Cup has seen a lot of changes since the race was first contested in 1863. Over the years the length of the race has varied. From 1863 to 1942 the Australian Cup was run over 18 furlongs, which is approximately 3600 meters. From 1943 to 1962 it was shortened to 17 furlongs and 110 yards or about 3500 meters. In 1963 the length was cut back to two miles or 3200 meters and since 1964 it has been contested over 10 furlongs or about 2000m.

Australian Cup Final Field & Odds 2014

See below for early markets on this years Australian Cup.

‘Odds not currently available’

Australian Cup Preview & Tips 2014

Track: Dead    Weather: Fine

There are only nine runners for the $1 million 2013 Darley Australian Cup. The early favourite is 2013 Melbourne Cup winner Fiorente, who won the Group 2 Peter Young when resuming. Second favourite is 2013 Cox Plate winner Shamus Award who won the Australian Guineas last week in impressive style. Next in the market is Thunder Fantasy, the other three-year-old in the race who ran 3rd in the Australian Guineas after a win in the Group 2 Autumn Stakes.

Foreteller looks as if the distance will suit and should be fit now. Green Moon was favourite for this year last year, but didn’t even run a place – he can improve on that. Star Rolling likes Flemington and is getting close to a win. Mourayan ran a top race in the Peter Young, and could surprise. Voleuse De Coeurs and Let’s Make Adeal are both at long odds.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
Mick’s Picks
Ed’s Choice
1 Fiorente  8 Shamus Award  1 Fiorente
8 Shamus Award  1 Fiorente  8 Shamus Award
3 Mourayan  5 Star Rolling  4 Foreteller
9 Thunder Fantasy  3 Mourayan  2 Green Moon

Past winners of the Australian Cup:

In 2014 Fiorente and Green Moon became the first two Melbourne Cup winners to quinella a race since 1873. Trainer Bart Cummings has seen three of his horses win the cup in the last 15 years. Let’s Elope won in 1992, Durbridge in 1994 and Dane Ripper in 1998. John Hawkes and Freedman both have had two winners in that stretch.

Jockey Darren Beadman has ridden three Australian Cup champions, Let’s Elope in 1992, Saintly in 1996 and Lonhro in 2004. Other recent winners were Northerly, 2003 and 2001; Old Comnrade, 2002; Intergaze, 2000; Istidaad, 1999; Dane Ripper, 1998; Octagonal, 1997; Starstruck, 1995; Durbridge, 1994; Veandercross, 1993; Better Loosen Up, 1991 and Vo Rogue, 1990 and 1989.

Year Winner Second Third
2014 Fiorente Green Moon Foreteller
2013 Super Cool Fiveandahalfstar Tanby
2012 Manighar Southern Speed Americain
2011 Shocking Linton Playing God
2010 Zipping Sirmione Moatize
2009 Niconero Theseo Zagreb
2008 Sirmione Princess Coup Casino Prince
2007 Pompeii Ruler Marasco Tawqeet
2006 Roman Arch Candy Vale Our Smoking Joe
2005 Makybe Diva Winning Belle Lad Of The Manor
2004 Lonhro Delzao Elvstroem
2003 Northerly Natural Blitz Don Eduardo
2002 Old Comrade Northerly Rain Gauge
2001 Northerly Hit The Roof Kaapstad Way
2000 Intergaze Arena Streak